

East of England

All Party Parliamentary Group

Co-Chairs Peter Aldous MP and Daniel Zeichner MP

Vice-Chairs Baroness Janet Cohen, Jonathan Djanogly MP, Matt Hancock MP, Lord

Alan Haselhurst, Rachel Hopkins MP, Lord Stewart Jackson, Gagan

Mohindra MP, Priti Patel MP, Andrew Rosindell MP, Giles Watling MP

Clive Lewis MP Dr Dan Poulter MP Treasurer

MINUTE OF THE AGM

Held in Room S, Portcullis House, Tuesday 5th March 2023, 14:00 – 15:30

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS:

Peter Aldous MP and Daniel Zeichner MP, Co-Chairs of the East of England APPG, welcomed all those attending noting that the meeting was quorate as more than five Parliamentarians present.

THE AGM OF THE EAST OF ENGLAND APPG:

- Peter gave a brief review of APPG activity in 2023 remarking that it had been an especially busy year. There had been 8 meetings of the Group, 5 of which were in person in Parliament and 3 were held online. A Minister and/or a Shadow Minister addressed 6 of these meetings and there have been a range of other follow up letters to Ministers and 1-2-1 meetings.
- It was pointed out that the agreement with DLUHC to form a Levelling Up Delivery Partnership with the APPG and EELGA was evidence of the Group's progress and influence. success of our more specific lobbying activity, with the resumption of four trains an hour to Stansted and finally the green light for the improvement works at Ely and Haughley Junctions.
- Both Co-chairs thanked Steve Barwick of the APPG's Secretariat for his proactive support for the Group. The sponsors and academic partners of the Group were also thanked although it was noted that, for their own internal reasons, three of these were ending their contribution in 2024: Cadent, AstraZeneca and CityFibre.
- The planned activity in 2024 was outlined including another meeting in March that would look at Progress towards Levelling up and the annual East of England Parliamentary reception – held with EELGA. This event - on June 11th - will see the launch of a major report on the region's potential for economic growth and a "mini-manifesto" for the East of England.

- Four officers were nominated and agreed: Peter Aldous MP and Daniel Zeichner MP as Cochairs, Lord Haselhurst and Baroness Janet Cohen as Vice Chairs. A list of those who have agreed to be registered members of the Group was also read out and a number of others present were added so that there are now more than twenty. (Please see list appended)
- It was noted that due diligence that there is no foreign Government involvement in Secretariat or funding of the Group should be undertaken. It was noted that the Secretariat of the EE APPG Steve Barwick Political Consultancy (SBPC) is also employed on a consultancy basis by the Health Devolution Commission and City REDI at Birmingham University. He does no work for any country overseas. None of the sponsors of the Group who in effect pay SBPC to provide the Secretariat services are owned or controlled by foreign countries (see list in footer). Finally, the financial statement of income and expenditure was agreed and will be published on the APPG website as required in due course.
- The AGM concluded and this was then followed by a private briefing for MPs and Peers from Tom Abell, Chief Executive of East of England Ambulance Service, and Jonathan Duff, Director of Education for The East of England. It was agreed that it would not be appropriate to minute this meeting but the slides presented by Tom and Jonathan should be made public. They are available here and <a href=here.
- Peter thanked all the speakers and highlighted that the date of next meeting is Monday 18th March from 3.30 to 5pm in Thatcher Room.

ATTENDEES:

Peter Aldous MP	MP for Waveney and Co-Chair, East of England APPG
Daniel Zeichner MP	MP for Cambridge, Co-Chair, East of England APPG and Shadow EFRA Minister
Jerome Mayhew MP	MP for Broadland
Julie Marson MP	MP for Hertford and Stortford
Lord Stewart Jackson	Former MP for Peterborough
Stephen Metcalfe MP	MP for South Basildon and East Thurrock
Rt Hon Therese Coffey MP	MP for Suffolk Coastal
Sir Bernard Jenkin MP	MP for Harwich and North Essex
Ed Liddington	Office of Matt Hancock MP
Lizzy Zisman	Office of Peter Aldous MP
Steve Barwick	Secretariat for the East of England APPG

The following have formally registered to be members of the East of England APPG:

- 1. Peter Aldous MP
- 2. Daniel Zeichner MP
- 3. Lord Alan Haselhurst
- 4. Baroness Janet Cohen
- 5. Lord Stewart Jackson
- 6. Lord Chris Smith
- 7. Dr Daniel Poulter MP
- 8. Matt Hancock MP
- 9. Julie Marson MP
- 10. Jerome Mayhew MP
- 11. Dean Russell MP
- 12. Giles Watling MP
- 13. Duncan Baker MP
- 14. Matt Hancock MP
- 15. Jonathan Djanogly MP
- 16. Shailesh Vara MP
- 17. Clive Lewis MP
- 18. Gagan Mohindra MP
- 19. Stephen Metcalfe MP
- 20. Bernard Jenkin MP
- 21. Therese Coffey MP
- 22. Will Quince MP

The East of England APPG is kindly supported by British Sugar, London Stansted Airport, the East of England LGA, AstraZeneca, Anglian Water, Cadent, Transport East, the UK Innovation Corridor, Freeport East, England's Economic Heartland and CityFibre.























The academic partners of the East of England APPG are the Centre for Public and Policy Engagement at the University of Essex, The University of Cambridge, Anglia Ruskin University and the University of East Anglia.







