

MINUTES AND ATTENDEES - INAUGURAL MEETING

10:30 - 11:30 ROOM U, PORTCULLIS HOUSE, WEDNESDAY 11TH SEPTEMBER 2024

1. Welcome and introductions

- Steve Barwick, Secretariat of the APPG, welcomed all MPs, Peers and partners of the APPG to the meeting and invited each one to introduce themselves (see appended attendance list.)

2. Election of Parliamentary Officers

- Steve Barwick invited nominations for Co-chair of the East of England APPG and Jess Asato MP and Andrew Pakes MP were duly elected.
- Andrew Pakes MP then chaired the rest of the proceedings first inviting nominations for Vice chair of the Group. Marie Goldman MP and Blake Stephenson MP were duly elected.

3. Discussion of other requirements regarding registering the APPG

a) mission

- The APPG's mission in the previous Parliament was read out: "To bring together East of England's MPs and Peers with elected local council leaders - and senior representatives from the private and third sectors - to give a strong political voice for policies which support the East of England's economy and promote its potential as a place to work, study, live and invest."
- A number of edits were proposed and the following amended version was then agreed: "To bring together East of England's MPs and Peers with elected local council leaders, directly elected mayors and police, crime and fire commissioners as well as senior representatives from the private and third sectors to give a strong political voice for policies which support the East of England's economy and environment and promote its potential as a place to work, study, live, visit and invest."

b) requirement to have twenty plus registered members

- The Secretariat informed those in attendance that more than twenty MPs and three Peers had already indicated their willingness to be registered but all those in attendance who had not previously put their names forward could also be added. This was agreed and the list is as follows:

Bedfordshire

- Alex Mayer (Lab)
- Rachel Hopkins (Lab)
- Blake Stephenson (Con)

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough

- Charlotte Cane (Liberal Democrat)
- Sam Carling (Lab)
- Ben Obese-Jecty (Con)
- Andrew Pakes (Lab)
- Pippa Heylings MP (Lib Dem)

Essex

- Bayo Alaba (Lab)
- David Burton-Sampson (Labour)
- Marie Goldman (Liberal Democrat)
- Richard Holden (Con)
- Sir Bernard Jenkin (Conservative)
- Chris Vince (Lab)
- John Whittingdale (Con)

Hertfordshire

- Kevin Bonavia (Lab)
- Victoria Collins (Lib Dem)
- Dean Josh (Lab)
- Matt Turmaine (Labour)
- Andrew Lewin (Labour)

Norfolk

- George Freeman (Con)
- Ben Goldsborough (Lab)
- Terry Jermy (Lab)
- Jerome Mayhew (Con)
- Adrian Ramsey (Green)
- James Wild (Con)

Suffolk

- Jack Abbott (Lab)
- Jess Asato (Lab)
- James Cartlidge (Con)
- Peter Prinsley (Labour)
- Jenny Riddell-Carpenter (Lab)
- Patrick Spencer (Con)
- Nick Timothy (Con)

Peers

- Lord Alan Haselhurst (Con)
- Lord Michael Naseby (Con)
- Baroness Ros Scott (Liberal Democrat)

(Thirty-five in total)

c) Secretariat

- Steve Barwick was invited to address the meeting and he explained that he has been providing the secretariat for the Group for the past six years; that he prepares the papers for all the meetings including arranging relevant briefing papers and securing speakers; explained that his funding is derived from the sponsors of the Group (and that the Group also has non-paying academic and business partners); set out that his other employment comes from running the Health Devolution Commission and the University of Birmingham; and, finally, reassured attendees that he is not funded by a foreign government.
- Steve Barwick was confirmed as Secretariat of the APPG. It was then requested that the contact details for the APPG's sponsors and partners should be circulated to all MPs and Peers and the Secretariat undertook to do that as soon as possible.

d) Future subject matters for APPG meetings

- The Secretariat explained that the APPG meets approximately seven times a year and that whilst it will be important to have agreed topics with speakers in advance immediate issues can always be raised by members on the day. A background paper had included details of potential future meetings and the following were agreed:
- (i) Discussion regarding **local government finance and private sector inward investment** as well as reflections on the Budget to take place on the afternoon of Monday 4th November
- (ii) Joint **East of England APPG and East of England LGA Parliamentary Reception** to take place on Tuesday 3rd December from 630 to 8 in the Churchill Room. This was to have taken place in June but had to be postponed due to the General election being called.
- (iii) Annual discussion regarding climate change -this would also look at issues regarding water (such as flooding and drought) and energy (including the region's key role regarding future renewables). This meeting would take place in January (date TBC) but it will be on-line.
- (iv) The four Parliamentary officers would meet at a later date to agree topics for meetings in March, April and June.

e) AOB

- There was a short briefing from Naomi Green of England's Economic Heartlands and Esme Yuil
 of Transport East on transport infrastructure investment in the East of England, particularly in
 relation to Ely and Haughley Junction improvements
- It was agreed that a letter should be prepared that could be signed by the officers of the APPG and MPs and Peers from across the region. Social media assets and draft press releases were also requested so that there would be attention to this issue before the Budget. [It was subsequently agreed to submit the letter and try to get media coverage on Thursday 19th September.] There will also be a request for a Westminster Hall Debate.
- The meeting ended at 11:25

ATTENDEES

Bedfordshire

- Alex Mayer (Lab)
- Blake Stephenson (Con)

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough

- Charlotte Cane (Liberal Democrat)
- Sam Carling (Lab)
- Ben Obese-Jecty (Con)
- Andrew Pakes (Lab)
- Pippa Heylings MP (Lib Dem)

Essex

- Bayo Alaba (Lab)
- David Burton-Sampson (Labour)
- Marie Goldman (Liberal Democrat)
- Sir Bernard Jenkin (Conservative)
- Chris Vince (Lab)

Hertfordshire

- Kevin Bonavia (Lab)
- Dean Josh (Lab)
- Matt Turmaine (Labour)
- Andrew Lewin (Labour)

Norfolk

- Terry Jermy (Lab)
- Alice Macdonald
- James Wild (Con)
- Adrian Ramsey (Green)

Suffolk

- Jess Asato (Lab)
- Jenny Riddell-Carpenter (Lab)
- Peter Prinsley (Labour)
- Nick Timothy (Con)

Peers

Lord Alan Haselhurst (Con)

Partners

- Naomi Green (England's Economic Heartland)
- Jackie Sudek (UK Innovation Corridor)
- Chioma Obi (Anglian Water Services)
- James Rolfe (Anglia Ruskin University)
- Adam Thorpe (East of England LGA)
- Steve Beel (Freeport East)
- Esme Yuil (Transport East)
- Bethany Davies (Flagship Housing Group)
- Andrew Smyth (Sizewell C)
- Owen Stratford/Dominic O'Donnell (Lower Thames Crossing)

The East of England APPG is kindly supported by:

























The academic partners of the East of England APPG are:









The East of England APPG's business partners are:







